About Little Village

Little Village is an independent media company based in Iowa City. In print since 2001, our mission is to create visibility for the communities, businesses and events that define our region.

Through multimedia journalism, essays and events, Little Village fosters and pronounces the collective cultural identity of the Cedar Rapids and Iowa City area, and provides the tools needed to engage with the region’s government and culture.

View distribution map
View reader demographics
Subscribe to newsletters

Little Village Staff

Matthew Steele

Publisher
Matt@LittleVillageMag.com

Drew Bulman

Digital Director, Web Designer
DrewB@LittleVillageMag.com
@drewbulman

Jordan Sellergren

Art Director
Jordan@LittleVillageMag.com
@jsellergren

Frankie Schneckloth

Food & Drink Director
Frankie@LittleVillageMag.com

Paul Brennan

News Director
Paul@LittleVillageMag.com

Javier Ducker

Marketing Coordinator, Graphic Designer
Jav@LittleVillageMag.com

Genevieve Trainor

Arts Editor
Genevieve@LittleVillageMag.com
@gennisaisquoi

Emma McClatchey

Managing Editor
Emma@LittleVillageMag.com

Celine Robins

Engagement Editor
Celine@LittleVillageMag.com

Jason Smith

Visual Reporter, Videographer
Jason@LittleVillageMag.com

Zak Neumann

Visual Reporter, Photographer
Zak@LittleVillageMag.com

Izabela Zaluska

Staff Writer, Editor
Izabela@LittleVillageMag.com

Contact Little Village

Little Village HQ
623 S Dubuque St.
Iowa City, IA 52240

General Inbox
LV@LittleVillageMag.com

Editorial Tip-line
Editor@LittleVillageMag.com

Advertising
Ads@LittleVIllageMag.com

Core Values

Through journalism, essays and events, we work to improve our community according to a few core values:

  • Affordability and access
  • Economic and labor justice
  • Environmental sustainability
  • Racial justice
  • Gender equity
  • Multiculturalism
  • Quality healthcare
  • Quality education
  • Critical culture

Freelance Pitches

Little Village welcomes completed essays, letters to the editor and pitches for articles and essays pertaining to the news, arts and culture of the Iowa City-Cedar Rapids area.

In general, word counts range from 350-1,200 words, but longer essays and investigations up to 3,000 words may also be considered.

Our general content categories are:

  • Community news
  • Food and drink
  • Arts and entertainment
  • Essays

Pitches for as-yet-to-be-completed articles should include:

  • A brief explanation of the topic and proposed angle, i.e.; Remote-access healthcare (topic), and what it means for women’s health in Iowa (angle).
  • A proposed wordcount and timeframe for completion
  • List of potential sources

For proposed angles, see Little Village’s list of core values:

  • Affordability and access
  • Economic and labor justice
  • Environmental sustainability
  • Racial justice
  • Gender equity
  • Multiculturalism
  • Quality healthcare
  • Quality education

Freelancers are asked to refrain from contacting artists or press agents for interview requests on behalf of Little Village without the expressed approval and participation of a Little Village staff editor.

Please direct all submissions and queries to: Editor@LittleVillageMag.com

A note about fact-checking and source protection: All content published in Little Village or on littlevillagemag.com undergoes a rigorous fact-checking process. To the extent that published essays and articles draw on reporting and research, editors may ask contributors to document their sources. In-text citations are not necessary, but contributors may find it helpful to keep a file of each article or essay that includes a bibliography and sourced footnotes. At the editors’ discretion, sources for articles and essays of a sensitive nature may be kept anonymous in published drafts.

Letters to the Editor

Little Village regularly publishes letters to the editor(s) both online and in print, and submissions are always welcome. We reserve the right to fact check and edit for length and clarity. Please send your letters, comments or corrections to Editor@LittleVillageMag.com.

Advertising & Design Services

Little Village (and its creative agency, Little Village Creative Services) offers targeted advertising campaigns, a ticketing service, content and event sponsorships, mobile website design, custom publication and menu design, logos, photography, video and editing services.

Request Information:

Ads@LittleVillageMag.com

Little Village Tickets

If you run a venue, or are thinking of throwing an event, Little Village wants to be your partner. We’re local, our fees are very low (free for event organizers, low service charges for ticket purchasers) and fully customizable for concerts, festivals, races, pop-up dinners, or any event, large or small.

Start Selling Tickets

Non-profit Sponsorships

Little Village donates 10 percent of its ad space in each issue to area nonprofits. To request sponsorship, contact: LV@LittleVillageMag.com

Witching Hour Festival

Co-produced by Little Village and the Englert Theatre, Witching Hour is a two-day festival that takes place in Downtown Iowa City each fall, dedicated to exploring the unknown, discussing the creative process, and presenting new work.

Visit Site

Reader Comment Policy

Little Village reserves the right to remove comments that contain abusive, racist or hateful language or expressions; epithets or slurs; text, photographs or illustrations in poor taste; inflammatory attacks of a personal, racial or religious nature; and links to unverifiable websites.

To report a problem with the site, please contact: Web@LittleVillageMag.com

View our privacy policy »