Advertisement

Subscribe
to the
Weekender

Advertisement

Album Reviews

Posted by Genevieve Trainor | Feb 14, 2017

Aseethe Hopes of Failure aseethe.bandcamp.com/album/hopes-of-failure Iowa City trio Aseethe -- Brian Barr, Danny Barr and Eric Diercks -- broke last summer when they signed to Chicago’s Thrill Jockey Records (Future...

Posted by Nate Logsdon | Feb 14, 2017

Night Pits Last Night Forever nightpits.bandcamp.com Last Night Forever by Night Pits Writing a punk anthem is a fundamentally communitarian act. The idea is that anyone -- whether they think...

Posted by Michael Roeder | Jan 31, 2017

TIRES LP1 tires.bandcamp.com LP1 by Tires The big, anthemic sound of Phil Young’s (the Wheelers) new instrumental project TIRES was inspired by the recent passing of his grandfather. “He was...

Posted by Kent Williams | Jan 31, 2017

Belly Belt Stay True EP bellybelt.bandcamp.com Stay True by Belly Belt Iowa City West High alum Kate Feldmann’s Belly Belt isn’t miles away from her day job dressing as a...

Posted by Liv Carrow | Jan 17, 2017

Idpyramid Dawn Rider II idpyramid.bandcamp.com Dawn Rider II by Idpyramid Idpyramid is Quad Cities musician and composer Dennis Hockaday (formerly of Mondo Drag and Bedroom Shrine). He recently released Dawn...

Posted by Michael Roeder | Jan 17, 2017

The Pines Pasture II thepinesmusic.com During live shows the Pines will drop in traditional and cover songs, seemingly as much for their entertainment as for the audience. In 2015, they...

Posted by Kent Williams | Jan 3, 2017

JCϟjp JCϟjp jcjp.bandcamp.com/releases JCϟjp by JCϟjp The name JCϟjp is an unpronounceable acronym of the group members’ names, Justin Comer and Jason Palamara. Palamara is a violinist and electronic musician...

Posted by Liv Carrow | Jan 3, 2017

Jack Lion ION soundcloud.com/jacklion ION by Jack Lion Jack Lion, Iowa City’s darlings of downtempo ambient jazz electronica, released their new ION EP last month. The group, which consists of...

Posted by Michael Roeder | Dec 6, 2016

King of the Tramps Cumplir con el Diablo kingofthetramps.com Cumplir con el Diablo by King Of The Tramps Amidst the storm of internet reaction the day after the elections last...

Posted by Kent Williams | Dec 6, 2016

Karen Meat She’s Drunk Like the Rest of Us EP karenmeat.bandcamp.com She's Drunk Like the Rest of Us by Karen Meat Karen Meat is a pop genius. Karen Meat sings...

Posted by Kent Williams | Nov 15, 2016

Anthony Worden Demos anthonyworden.bandcamp.com When I saw Anthony -- aka A.J. Worden, formerly of Bull Black Nova -- perform at The Mill recently, I was struck by how he sometimes...

Posted by Darcie Hutzell | Nov 15, 2016

Angle Talkin’ Story angle1.bandcamp.com Longtime Iowa hip hop artist Angle (aka Jarid Catrenich) is at it again. Following on the heels of last year’s Definitive Bedtime Stories is his newest...

Posted by Kent Williams | Nov 1, 2016

Jim Swim Half Woke EP itsjimswim.bandcamp.com/releases Half Woke EP by Jim Swim Hip hop came to Iowa City in the boom box on the shoulder of celebrated University of Iowa...

Posted by Darcie Hutzell | Nov 1, 2016

Brendan Hanks Through soundcloud.com/brendanhanks Brendan Hanks’ new EP Through is a really intelligent record. It is measured and studied, and it’s obvious that Hanks has had a long love affair...

Posted by Genevieve Trainor | Oct 18, 2016

Flannel Season Back Amongst the Dirt flannelseason.bandcamp.com I hear rumors that the ’90s are “in” again. Things seem to run in roughly 20 year cycles. When I was a kid...

Posted by Michael Roeder | Oct 18, 2016

SIRES Soul For Sale dsandn.com Dylan Sires is a sellout. Or, at least that is what he wants you to believe. After a few years slugging it out as Dylan...