Iowa Music Project announces 2016 Songwriting Showcase honorees

[vc_row full_width=”” parallax=”” parallax_image=””][vc_column width=”1/1″][vc_column_text]Results for the Iowa Music Project’s 2016 Songwriting Showcase are in! After fielding more than 200 submissions, curators at the Iowa Music Project have narrowed their list down to 25 finalists (plus two bonus tracks from Halfloves and Middle Western, performing at the June. 2 IMP launch party). The 25 finalists — listed below — will receive one half-day recording session at Flat Black Studios. A selection of these 25 tracks will also be included in a vinyl pressing released by Maximum Ames Records.

The compilation includes two Listeners’ Choice honorees, Matt Van and Mason Greve & the Pork Tornadoes. Music aficionados across Iowa cast more than 14,000 votes in the poll, which featured hundreds of submissions by Iowa-based artists.

Join us at the IMP Launch Party

Join Little Village and the Iowa Music Project on June 2, 2016 at the Des Moines Social Club for an IMP launch event featuring two opening acts and headliners The Middle Western, an Iowa songwriting supergroup led by William Elliott Whitmore and David Zollo. Iowa Public Radio will broadcast and emcee the event. Stay tuned for more details![/vc_column_text][vc_column_text css=”.vc_custom_1459877928841{margin-bottom: -20px !important;}”]

IMP Songwriting Showcase honorees

[/vc_column_text][vc_column_text el_class=”imp-list”]

Artist / Group Track
1. Elizabeth Moen State Lines
2. Middle Western Help Me
3. Mason Greve and The Pork Tornadoes One Stop Shop *
4. Blake Bogenrief A Changed Man (feat. Jamie Eberhart)
5. Curt Oren Bing Bong
6. Annalibera Basic Writer
7. Tambourine Words
8. Ben Dunegan Liberation
9. Mutilated by Zombies The Tenth Man
10. Flash in a Pan Skunk River Blues
11. Peter Rolnick Brooklyn Girl
12. A.J. Worden Saying Yes to Everything
13. Jim Swim and Mary Bozaan Recently Lately
14. Maiden Mars I Dare You
15. Jenny Lynn Stacy and the Dirty Roosters Two Pennies for the Boatman
16. The Fuss Becoming the Worm
17. Doc Miller Pale Ale (Beware)
18. Squirrel Flower Midwestern Clay
19. Rick Burke Lazarus
20. Vanessa Ellsbury Lay Me Down
21. Matt Van I Don’t Wanna *
22. MarKaus Fallout
23. Halfloves No More Secrets
24. Victor Ayara Mfina Ibaha
25. Juni West Creeping Eyes
26. Calle Sur Tilín, Tilán
27. Justin Alan Cox & Jeremy Bos Old Northender

* Listeners’ Choice Winner[/vc_column_text][vc_column_text css=”.vc_custom_1459877960377{margin-top: 10px !important;margin-bottom: -20px !important;}”]

Listen: IMP Songwriting Showcase honorees (SoundCloud & Youtube)

[/vc_column_text][vc_row_inner][vc_column_inner width=”1/2″ el_class=”column-left”][vc_column_text]

[/vc_column_text][/vc_column_inner][vc_column_inner width=”1/2″ el_class=”column-right”][vc_column_text]


Subscribe for daily news updates from Little Village


[/vc_column_text][/vc_column_inner][/vc_row_inner][vc_column_text el_class=”imp-list”]


About the IMP

The Iowa Music Project is made possible through by the Iowa Arts Council and the National Endowment for the Arts, and presented in partnership with Flat Black Studio, Little Village Magazine, the Des Moines Social Club, and Maximum Ames Records. Additional support is provided by Adamantine Spine Moving.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]

Thoughts? Tips? A cute picture of a dog? Share them with LV »


Iowa City Book Festival

Oct. 18-24

A celebration of books, writing and ideas

Find Out More


Summer Programs 2020

Get 150+ local restaurants delivered to your door in the Iowa City & Cedar Rapids areas!

The Future is Unwritten

You look to Little Village for today’s stories. Your sustaining support will help us write tomorrow’s.


$10/mo or $120/year
The cost of doing this work really adds up! Your contribution at this level will cover telephone and internet expenses for one month at the LV editorial offices.


$20/mo or $240/year
$240 is enough to cover one month’s costs for sending out our weekly entertainment newsletter, The Weekender. Make a contribution at this level to put a little more oomph on your support and your weekend.


$30/mo or $360/year
(AUTO-RENEW) connects eastern Iowa culture with the world. Your contribution at this level will cover the site’s hosting costs for three months. A bold move for our boldest supporters!

All monthly and annual contributors receive:

  • Recognition on our Supporters page (aliases welcome)
  • Exclusive early access when we release new half-price gift cards
  • Access to a secret Facebook group where you can connect with other supporters and discuss the latest news and upcoming events (and maybe swap pet pics?) with the LV staff
  • Invitations to periodic publisher chats (held virtually for now) to meet with Matt and give him a piece of your mind, ask your burning questions and hear more about the future plans for Little Village, Bread & Butter Magazine, Witching Hour Festival and our other endeavors.