Advertisement

Subscribe
to the
Weekender

Advertisement

About Little Village

Little Village is an independent media company based in Iowa City. Readers collect our twice monthly print editions as quality guides to the areas top artists, events and ideas, as they emerge. Annual dining guide Bread & Butter is eastern Iowa’s definitive foodie bucket list, while Yoga Iowa, released quarterly, enriches a statewide community with health and wellness news. We’ve been in print since July 2001.

Little Village staff

Matthew Steele

Publisher
Matt@littlevillagemag.com

Drew Bulman

Digital Director, Web Designer
DrewB@littlevillagemag.com
@drewbulman

Jordan Sellergren

Art Director
Jordan@littlevillagemag.com
@jsellergren

Genevieve Trainor

Arts Editor
Genevieve@littlevillagemag.com
@gennisaisquoi

Lauren Shotwell

News Director
Lauren@littlevillagemag.com
@lauren_shotwell

Zak Neumann

Visual Reporter, Photographer
Zak@littlevillagemag.com
@hellowneumann

Jason Smith

Visual Reporter, Videographer
Jason@littlevillagemag.com

Frankie Schneckloth

Food & Drink Director
Frankie@littlevillagemag.com

Eleanore Taft

Production Manager, Editor
Eleanore@littlevillagemag.com

Natalia Araujo

Office Manager, Graphic Designer
Natalia@littlevillagemag.com

Javier Ducker

Marketing Coordinator, Graphic Designer
Jav@littlevillagemag.com

Joshua Preston

Venue Account Manager, Calendar Editor
Joshua@littlevillagemag.com

Trevor Lee Hopkins

Distribution Manager
Trevor@littlevillagemag.com

.

Phone
319-855-1474

Little Village HQ
623 S Dubuque St.
Iowa City, IA 52240

General Inbox
LV@LittleVillageMag.com

Editorial Tip-line
Editor@LittleVillageMag.com

Advertising
Ads@LittleVIllageMag.com

Events Calendar
Calendar@LittleVillageMag.com

Bread & Butter Magazine
Frankie@LittleVillageMag.com

Yoga Iowa
YogaIowa@LittleVillageMag.com

Iowa Feeder
Feeder@LittleVillageMag.com | iowafeeder.com

Little Village Tickets
Tickets@LittleVillageMag.com | littlevillagetickets.com

Design Services
Creative@LittleVillageMag.com | littlevillagecreative.com

Distribution
Distro@LittleVillageMag.com

Published every Thursday, the Weekender is a Little Village newsletter that highlights must-see events taking place in the Iowa City area each weekend. Sign up to receive regular updates from Little Village.


Through journalism, essays and events, we work to improve our community according to a few core values:

• Affordability and access
• Economic and labor justice
• Environmental sustainability
• Racial justice
• Gender equity
• Multiculturalism
• Quality healthcare
• Quality education
• Critical culture

Little Village welcomes completed essays, letters-to-the-editor, and pitches for articles and essays pertaining to the news, arts and culture of the Iowa City-Cedar Rapids area.

In general, word counts range from 350-1200 words, but longer essays and investigations up to 3,000 words may also be considered.

Our general content categories are:

• Community news
• Food and drink
• Arts and entertainment
• Essays

Pitches for as-yet-to-be-completed articles should include:

• A brief explanation of the topic and proposed angle, i.e.; Remote-access healthcare (topic), and what it means for women’s health in Iowa (angle).
• A proposed wordcount and timeframe for completion
• List of potential sources

For proposed angles, see Little Village’s list of core values:

• Affordability and access
• Economic and labor justice
• Environmental sustainability
• Racial justice
• Gender equity
• Multiculturalism
• Quality healthcare
• Quality education

Freelancers are asked to refrain from contacting artists or press agents for interview requests on behalf of Little Village without the expressed approval and participation of a Little Village staff editor.

Please direct all submissions and queries to: editor@littlevillagemag.com

A note about fact-checking and source protection: All content published in Little Village or on littlevillagemag.com undergoes a rigorous fact-checking process. To the extent that published essays and articles draw on reporting and research, editors may ask contributors to document their sources. In-text citations are not necessary, but contributors may find it helpful to keep a file of each article or essay that includes a bibliography and sourced footnotes. At the editors’ discretion, sources for articles and essays of a sensitive nature may be kept anonymous in published drafts.

Quick pitch form:

Little Village regularly publishes letters to the editor(s) both online and in print, and submissions are always welcome. We reserve the right to fact check and edit for length and clarity. Please send your letters, comments or corrections to editor@littlevillagemag.com, or use the quick submission form below.

Little Village (and its creative agency, Little Village Creative Services) offers targeted advertising campaigns, a ticketing service, content and event sponsorships, mobile website design, custom publication and menu design, logos, photography and editing services.

Request Information:

If you run a venue, or are thinking of throwing an event, Little Village wants to be your partner. We’re local, our fees are very low (free for event organizers, low service charges for ticket purchasers) and fully customizable for concerts, festivals, races, pop-up dinners, or any event, large or small.

START SELLING TICKETS

Request information:

The off-campus meals app that parents and students agree on.

Visit full site

Contact Feeder staff:

Little Village donates 10 percent of its ad space in each issue to area nonprofits.

Apply for sponsorship:

Co-produced by Little Village, Witching Hour is a two-day festival that takes place in Downtown Iowa City each fall, dedicated to exploring the unknown, creative process, and new work.

2015 marked a successful first year, with more than 1,300 people in attendance and dozens of participants including musicians, artists, comedians, writers, thinkers, scientists, magicians and more.

2016’s programming was just as diverse, and asked: What’s new in art, science, performance, and literature? How better can we engage with our community, both local and global? What can the creative process look like?

Visit full site

The 2017 festival is already in the works. Contact us now if you have a question about Witching Hour:

To report a problem with the site, please contact: Web@LittleVillageMag.com

Reader comment policy: Little Village reserves the right to remove comments that contain abusive, racist or hateful language or expressions, epithets or slurs, text, photographs or illustrations in poor taste, inflammatory attacks of a personal, racial or religious nature.